A whole-house surge protector helps limit voltage spikes entering through a home’s electrical system, but the right choice depends on panel compatibility, installation requirements, and the protection rating—not amperage figures alone. I’d put the Square D HEPD80 first for its clear 80 kA rating and familiar whole-home format, while the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 stands out for buyers seeking a higher listed rating and the Square D Homeline Plug-On Neutral suits compatible Homeline panels. Type 1 and Type 2 devices differ in where they can be installed, and panel-specific models may be easier to fit but less flexible if you change equipment. Read on for the full comparison, selection criteria, and guidance on matching a device to your panel and electrician’s advice.
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The Square D HEPD80 is my best overall pick because its stated 80 kA rating offers a clear middle ground between lower-rated options and the 140 kA Siemens model.
- The Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 leads on listed surge-current capacity, but its rating alone does not establish compatibility or guarantee better protection in every installation.
- Panel fit changes the decision: the Square D Homeline Plug-On Neutral model is tailored to compatible Homeline panels, while universal-style devices offer broader potential fit but still need verification.
- Type 1 and Type 2 labels affect placement and installation; buyers should confirm the device’s permitted location and wiring requirements rather than choosing from the rating alone.
- The lineup spans very different stated capacities and formats, from Siemens’s 35 kA BoltShield to Furniqro’s 108,000 A model, so compare rating definitions, certification, and documentation before treating the numbers as directly equivalent.
| whole house surge protector | Voltage | Model |
|---|---|---|
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C | — | ET003 |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC | — |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | 120/240 V | — |
| Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker | 120/240 V AC | HOM2175SB |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home | 120/240 V | FHSPD108S |
| EVOSPD2SURGE Whole House Surge | 120/240V | — |
| Square D Homeline Whole House | 120/240V | — |
| Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 Lev | 120/240V | FSPD140 |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Su | 120/240 VAC | HSPD-25 |
| Square D by Schneider Electric | 120/240V | — |
| Eaton Surge Protection Device | 120/240V | CHSPT2ULTRA |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole House | 240 V | FHSPD36S |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA BoltS | 240 V | QSPD2A035B |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
The Drizzlen is the lineup’s most practical fit for someone protecting multiple compatible panels: the pack includes three Type BR devices, each designed to mount in a load center and use two branch-circuit spaces. Its stated 18 kA surge current rating is modest beside the ABB THOMESURGEP’s 36 kA per phase or the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA maximum, so I would choose this for quantity and panel-based installation rather than the highest listed capacity. The key limitation is compatibility: a Type BR device is not a universal substitute for any panel-mounted SPD. It also consumes two spaces in each panel. Buyers should confirm their panel accepts this device and have a qualified electrician handle installation; the supplied data does not specify voltage, status indicators, or certifications.
Pros:- Three devices in one pack suit multiple compatible panels
- Panel-mounted design integrates with a load center
- 18 kA surge current rating is specified
- Two-pole configuration is identified in the product data
Cons:- Each device uses two branch-circuit spaces
- Type BR compatibility limits where it can be installed
- The supplied specifications do not state voltage, status indicators, or certifications
Best for: Property owners or electricians equipping several compatible Type BR load centers who want a three-device pack.
Not ideal for: Anyone with a non-Type-BR panel, limited breaker space, or a priority for a higher stated surge rating and detailed certification information.
- Brand:Drizzlen
- Model:ET003
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Pack quantity:3
- Mounting:Panel mount
- Poles:2
- Branch-circuit spaces:2
Our verdict“Choose the Drizzlen pack when you need surge devices for several compatible Type BR panels and can spare two spaces in each.”
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD
The ABB THOMESURGEP stands apart from panel plug-on choices such as the Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker: its external wall mount avoids taking up breaker spaces, and its stated 36 kA per phase capacity is paired with a 200 kA SCCR. It supports both 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC systems, while universal load-center compatibility makes it less tied to one panel brand than the Drizzlen Type BR device. That flexibility does not make installation casual; placement, wiring, and grounding still call for an electrician. An LED offers a quick status check, but it does not replace proper installation or indicate protection for every connected device. I would shortlist this for a home where panel space or brand restrictions make a plug-on SPD inconvenient.
Pros:- External wall mounting leaves breaker spaces available
- Universal load-center compatibility is specified
- 36 kA surge capacity per phase and 200 kA SCCR
- LED status indication and listed certification details are provided
Cons:- External wiring and grounding require careful professional installation
- Listed for specific North American AC system voltages
- More involved to mount than a compatible plug-on panel device
Best for: Homeowners with limited breaker space or a load center outside the ABB family who want an externally mounted Type 1 SPD.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a simple plug-on installation, or those whose electrical system is outside the listed 120/240 V and 120/208 V configurations.
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Surge capacity:36 kA per phase
- Voltage:120/240 V and 120/208 V AC
- SCCR:200 kA
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Mounting:External wall mount
- Frequency:50–60 Hz
- Indicators:LED
- Certifications:UL listed and ANSI certified
Our verdict“Pick the ABB when you need a brand-flexible, external Type 1 SPD and would rather preserve panel spaces than use a plug-on model.”
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 120/240V, 80 kA
The HEPD80 is the strongest capacity-led choice among these five: its listed 80 kA maximum current is above the ABB THOMESURGEP’s 36 kA per phase and the Drizzlen’s 18 kA rating. Its compact load-center installation and LED status indicator give owners a way to check the device while keeping it integrated with the home’s electrical service. That rating is not a promise that every sensitive electronic device needs no other protection; the product is described as working alongside plug-in surge strips. Unlike ABB’s external-mount design, this requires space and installation inside a compatible load center. The supplied data also lists six outlets, which is unusual for a panel-mounted unit, so I would verify the exact configuration and installation instructions before buying rather than infer how those outlets function.
Pros:- 80 kA listed maximum current is the highest stated rating among these five products
- Compact design is intended for residential load centers
- LED indicator helps show when replacement is needed
- Designed to supplement plug-in surge strips
Cons:- Requires installation in a load center
- Does not replace plug-in protection for sensitive electronics
- The supplied specifications do not clarify panel compatibility or the listed six-outlet configuration
Best for: Homeowners prioritizing a higher stated maximum-current rating in a compact, load-center-mounted device and willing to retain plug-in protection for sensitive electronics.
Not ideal for: Buyers who cannot spare panel space, want an external mount, or need clearly documented panel compatibility and installation details before purchase.
- Phase:1-phase
- Wiring:3-wire
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Maximum current:80 kA
- Outlets:6
- Compatible devices:Home appliances and electronics
- Weight:14.88 oz
- Enclosure material:Polycarbonate and rubber
- Recommended use:Indoor
Our verdict“Choose the HEPD80 if its 80 kA maximum rating and load-center format suit your installation, while keeping plug-in protection for sensitive electronics.”
Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker Surge Protection Device, 120/240V
The Homeline SurgeBreaker makes the most sense when the existing load center is specifically a Square D Homeline panel. Its plug-on format and LED status indicator make it a more direct fit for that installation than the externally mounted ABB THOMESURGEP, while its compact body keeps the device close to the panel. This is a narrower, lower-capacity choice than the Square D HEPD80, which lists an 80 kA maximum current; the SurgeBreaker lists a 10 kA maximum current and is described as protecting the service and major appliances, not electronic devices. The listing also reports conflicting surge ratings, so I would verify the applicable rating and panel fit before buying. It takes two panel spaces, limiting its appeal when a Homeline load center is already full.
Pros:- Designed for Square D Homeline load centers
- Plug-on installation avoids a separate external wall mount
- LED indicates operational status
- UL listed for indoor use
Cons:- Requires two load-center spaces
- Product description excludes electronic devices from its stated protection scope
- Surge ratings conflict across the listing
Best for: Owners with a compatible Square D Homeline 120/240 V panel who want a compact plug-on device for service and major-appliance protection.
Not ideal for: Owners of other panel brands, buyers short on breaker spaces, or anyone seeking a clearly documented high-capacity rating or protection specifically for electronic devices.
- Model:HOM2175SB
- Voltage:120/240 V AC
- Phase:Single phase
- Wire configuration:3-wire
- Installation:Plug-on; requires 2 spaces
- Maximum current:10 kA
- SCCR:22.5 kA
- Indicator:LED operational status indicator
- Certification:UL listed
Our verdict“Choose this SurgeBreaker for a compatible Homeline panel when appliance-focused protection and a two-space plug-on installation fit your needs.”
Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240 V
Furniqro’s FHSPD108S offers the largest headline current figure in this group: 108,000 A, compared with the Square D HEPD80’s listed 80 kA maximum. It also supports indoor or outdoor installation in a commercial-grade enclosure, giving it more placement flexibility than the indoor-use Square D option. Those figures do not make the Furniqro automatically the better match: the supplied information does not state a per-phase rating, SCCR, certification, or load-center compatibility, so I would check the installation documentation before weighing capacity against other models. Its LED indicators provide protection-status feedback, but setup and troubleshooting may require an electrician familiar with grounding protocols. This is a plausible fit when mounting location matters; buyers wanting a clearly specified panel plug-on device may prefer one of the Square D models.
Pros:- 108,000 A maximum-current figure is the highest stated headline rating among these five
- Rated for indoor or outdoor installation
- Commercial-grade enclosure
- LED indicators show protection status
Cons:- Installation and troubleshooting may require a qualified electrician familiar with grounding
- Supplied data does not state SCCR, certification, or per-phase capacity
- Panel connection and load-center compatibility are not specified
Best for: Homeowners who need indoor or outdoor mounting flexibility and can have an electrician confirm system compatibility and grounding requirements.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need published certification, SCCR, per-phase ratings, or clear plug-on panel compatibility before choosing a whole-home SPD.
- Model:FHSPD108S
- Maximum current:108,000 A
- Voltage:120/240 V
- System frequency:60 Hz
- Enclosure:Commercial-grade
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Indicators:LED status indicators
- Weight:0.46 kg
- Plug type:Type A / Type B, 3-pin North American
Our verdict“Consider the FHSPD108S when indoor/outdoor placement and its stated 108,000 A figure suit your needs, after an electrician confirms compatibility and grounding details.”
EVOSPD2SURGE Whole House Surge Protector for 72,000 Amps/Phase, 1880 Joules, 120/240V
The EVOSPD2SURGE pairs a 72,000-amp-per-phase rating with thermally protected MOVs, making it a strong fit for buyers who prioritize surge-current capacity and component protection in a residential or light commercial system. Its green LED offers a quick visual status check, though the supplied details do not describe an alarm or replacement signal like the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140. The EVOSPD2SURGE also lists 1,880 joules of energy absorption, a figure buyers can compare with other protection details rather than treating its amp rating as the whole story. It is described as compatible with major panel brands, unlike the Square D Homeline plug-on device, which only fits specified Homeline load centers. The tradeoff is sparse installation guidance, so I would have a qualified electrician confirm fit and wiring before purchase.
Pros:- 72,000 amps per phase gives it a high stated surge-current capacity.
- Thermally protected MOVs are designed to reduce component stress during surge events.
- Green LED provides a visible operating-status check.
- Described as compatible with major electrical panel brands.
Cons:- Installation instructions are not detailed in the supplied product information.
- Residential and light-commercial focus may not suit buyers seeking a device specified for broader applications.
- No audible alarm or replacement indicator is listed.
Best for: Homeowners or light-commercial property owners seeking a high per-phase surge-current rating and broad stated panel compatibility.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed installation directions, remote alerts, or clearly specified outdoor installation suitability.
- Voltage:120/240V
- Surge current:72,000 amps per phase
- Energy absorption:1,880 joules
- Device type:Type 2 Surge Protective Device
- Protection components:Thermally protected MOVs
- Status indicator:Green LED
- Compatibility:Major electrical panel brands
Our verdict“Choose the EVOSPD2SURGE if high per-phase capacity and broad panel compatibility matter more than detailed installation guidance or alarm features.”
Square D Homeline Whole House Surge Protection Device, 50kA, 120/240V, 1-Phase, Plug-On Neutral
This Square D device is the most straightforward pick here for owners with a Homeline load center made after 2014: its plug-on installation requires no wiring, which can simplify a compatible panel setup. That narrow fit is also its main limitation. Unlike the EVOSPD2SURGE, which is described as compatible with major panel brands, this unit is not a universal choice and buyers must verify their load-center model and age. Its 50,000-amp rating is below the EVOSPD2SURGE’s 72,000 amps per phase and the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140’s 140 kA rating, so it is less compelling for shoppers comparing maximum listed surge current. An LED gives a basic status cue, but the supplied details do not mention an audible alarm or outdoor installation rating. I would choose it for fit and simpler connection, not for broad compatibility or monitoring.
Pros:- Plug-on installation requires no wiring for compatible applications.
- 50,000-amp maximum surge-current rating is clearly stated.
- LED indicator provides a basic status check.
- Made for a specific Homeline load-center fit rather than a universal external connection.
Cons:- Compatible only with Square D Homeline load centers manufactured after 2014.
- Limited to 120/240V single-phase applications.
- No audible alarm or outdoor installation suitability is specified.
Best for: Homeowners with a verified post-2014 Square D Homeline load center who want a plug-on surge device without separate wiring.
Not ideal for: Owners of other panel brands, older Homeline load centers, or buyers seeking outdoor suitability or a higher listed surge-current rating.
- Maximum surge current:50,000 amps
- Voltage:120/240V
- Phase:1-phase
- Connection:Plug-on neutral
- Wiring:No wiring required
- Compatibility:Square D Homeline load centers manufactured after 2014
- Status indicator:LED
Our verdict“Pick this Square D model when you have a compatible post-2014 Homeline panel and value plug-on installation over wider compatibility or higher surge-current ratings.”
Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 Level 2 Whole-House Surge Protection Device, 140 kA, 120/240V
With a listed 140 kA surge-current rating, the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 has the highest stated capacity among these five products. It also gives buyers more ways to spot a problem than the basic LED-only Square D Homeline device: diagnostic monitoring, a red replacement indicator, and an audible alarm are listed. Its indoor-or-outdoor enclosure rating adds placement flexibility, while the EVOSPD2SURGE is described more generally for residential and light-commercial systems without the same alarm details. The cost of that broader feature set is installation: this Siemens model uses an external parallel connection next to electrical gear, rather than a plug-on fit. Product information also leaves installation complexity unclear, so I would plan for a qualified electrician and confirm the setup at the panel. This is a monitoring-and-capacity choice, not the simplest retrofit.
Pros:- 140 kA surge-current rating is the highest listed among these five products.
- Diagnostic monitoring, a red replacement indicator, and an audible alarm provide multiple status cues.
- Enclosure is suitable for indoor or outdoor installation.
- Includes a stated 10-year warranty and 100K warranty.
Cons:- Requires an external parallel connection next to electrical gear.
- Installation complexity is not explained in the supplied details.
- The polycarbonate enclosure and external mounting require buyers to plan a suitable location.
Best for: Homeowners seeking a high listed surge-current rating, audible replacement alerts, and indoor or outdoor mounting flexibility.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a plug-on installation, a clearly described wiring process, or a basic device with minimal monitoring features.
- Model:FSPD140
- Voltage:120/240V
- Surge current:140 kA
- Installation:External parallel connection; indoor or outdoor
- Enclosure material:Polycarbonate
- Item weight:0.82 kg
- Status features:Diagnostic monitoring, red replacement indicator, audible alarm
- Warranty:10 years; 100K warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 if you want the strongest listed capacity and audible replacement alerts and can accommodate an external installation.”
Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1 SPD, 120/240 VAC
The Gloyatin HSPD-25 stands out for its Type 1 design, compact wall-mount format, and stated indoor-or-outdoor suitability. It is a better match for buyers who need placement flexibility than the Square D Homeline plug-on device, which depends on a particular panel, and it claims compatibility with standard circuit breakers from any brand. The biggest comparison problem is the listed surge capacity: 25/50/80 kA is presented as a range, but the supplied information does not say which figure applies to this model. That makes it difficult to compare confidently with the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 at 140 kA or the EVOSPD2SURGE at 72,000 amps per phase. I would shortlist it when mounting options matter, but ask the seller or electrician to confirm the applicable capacity and installation requirements before choosing it.
Pros:- Type 1 SPD designation is stated.
- Compact wall-mount design can suit installations with limited space.
- Listed as suitable for indoor or outdoor installation.
- Described as compatible with standard circuit breakers from any brand.
Cons:- The 25/50/80 kA range does not identify the capacity for this model.
- Installation and connection details are limited in the supplied information.
- No status indicator or alarm is listed.
Best for: Homeowners who need a compact, wall-mounted Type 1 device with stated indoor or outdoor placement and broad breaker compatibility.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a confirmed surge-capacity figure or want clearly detailed connection and installation guidance.
- Model:HSPD-25
- Device type:Type 1 SPD
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Listed as up to 25/50/80 kA; model-specific figure not clarified
- Breaker compatibility:Standard circuit breakers; any brand stated
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Poles:2
- Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
Our verdict“Consider the Gloyatin if compact indoor-or-outdoor mounting is your priority, but confirm its actual surge capacity before buying.”
Square D by Schneider Electric HEPD50 Universal Whole House Surge Protection Device
The Square D HEPD50 is a practical middle-ground choice for buyers who want a 50,000-amp Type 1 SPD that can be used indoors or outdoors with a residential load center. Its green LED makes operating status easy to check, but the listed monitoring is simpler than the Siemens Boltshield FSPD140, which adds a red replacement indicator and audible alarm. Unlike the Homeline plug-on model, the HEPD50 is described as connecting to any residential load center, giving it broader stated panel fit, though the supplied details do not explain the installation method. It is specified for single-phase 120/240V service with a 3-wire-plus-ground connection and a 25,000-amp SCCR. I would favor it over the Gloyatin when a definite 50,000-amp figure matters; buyers needing a higher listed surge-current rating should compare the EVOSPD2SURGE or Siemens instead.
Pros:- 50,000-amp surge-current rating is clearly stated.
- Suitable for indoor and outdoor use.
- Green LED provides a visible operating-status signal.
- Described as connectable to any residential load center.
Cons:- No smart or remote monitoring features are listed.
- Installation method and complexity are not detailed in the supplied information.
- Its listed surge-current rating is lower than the EVOSPD2SURGE and Siemens Boltshield FSPD140.
Best for: Owners of residential load centers who want a clearly stated 50,000-amp rating, indoor-or-outdoor use, and a simple visual status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking audible alerts, remote monitoring, a higher listed surge-current rating, or detailed installation instructions.
- Device type:Type 1 SPD
- Voltage:120/240V
- Phase:1-phase
- Surge current:50,000 amps
- Wiring:3-wire + ground
- SCCR:25,000 amps
- Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
- Status indicator:Green LED
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the HEPD50 for a straightforward, clearly rated residential option with indoor-or-outdoor suitability, but skip it if you want advanced alerts or greater listed capacity.”
Eaton Surge Protection Device, 1 Phase, 120/240V, 2 Poles, 2 Wires
The Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA is a practical pick for homeowners who want a panel-mounted surge device without being tied to one load-center brand. Its stated compatibility with any manufacturer’s load center gives it an advantage over the Siemens QSPD2A035B, which is designed for existing Siemens panels. The listed 120/240V, single-phase setup suits common residential service, while the two-pole, two-wire configuration gives buyers useful installation details that are missing from some of the other listings. The tradeoff is limited product data: no surge-current rating or status indicator is provided here, so I can’t compare its protection capacity directly with Furniqro’s FHSPD36S or Siemens’s 35 kA unit. It also provides surge protection only, rather than broader panel functions. Choose it for compatibility, not for a documented capacity advantage.
Pros:- Listed as compatible with any manufacturer’s load center
- Designed for common 120/240V single-phase residential systems
- Two-pole, two-wire configuration is specified
- Described as easy to install and built with durable materials
Cons:- No surge-current capacity is provided in the supplied specifications
- No status indicator is listed to show protection condition
- Provides surge protection only
Best for: Homeowners and electricians seeking a surge device listed as compatible with load centers from any manufacturer.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a published surge-current rating, a visible status indicator, or detailed performance specifications before choosing.
- Model:CHSPT2ULTRA
- Voltage:120/240V
- Phases:1
- Poles:2
- Wires:2
- Load-center compatibility:Any manufacturer’s load center
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton when broad stated panel compatibility matters more than having a published capacity rating or status display.”
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole House Surge Protector, 36,000 A, 120/240 V
The Furniqro FHSPD36S stands out for installation flexibility: it is listed for indoor or outdoor mounting, works with all brands of load centers and circuit breakers, and includes LED status indicators. Those features make it a more placement-flexible option than the indoor-only Siemens QSPD2A035B, whose plug-in format also restricts it to compatible Siemens load centers. Furniqro lists a 36,000 A surge capacity for 120/240V, 60 Hz systems, giving buyers a concrete figure, though it is below Siemens’s stated 35 kA per-phase rating only as a directly different rating basis and should not be treated as an exact apples-to-apples comparison. The compact wall-mount design may help where panel space is tight, but it does not erase installation requirements: grounding problems or misuse can cause trouble. The listed absence of a warranty is a notable ownership drawback.
Pros:- Rated at 36,000 A surge capacity
- Listed for indoor or outdoor installation
- Compatible with all brands of load centers and circuit breakers
- Compact wall-mount design with LED status indicators
Cons:- Warranty is listed as none
- Installation problems may result from grounding issues or misuse
- The supplied data does not detail a brand-specific installation method
Best for: Homeowners who need a compact whole-home SPD that can be mounted indoors or outdoors and want an LED status readout.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize warranty coverage or want a clearly documented installation path tailored to a specific load-center brand.
- Model:FHSPD36S
- Surge capacity:36,000 A
- System compatibility:120/240 V, 60 Hz
- Voltage:240 V
- Mounting type:Wall mount
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Number of poles:1
- Installation location:Indoor or outdoor
- Status indicators:LED
Our verdict“Pick the FHSPD36S if flexible mounting and visible LED status matter more to you than warranty coverage.”
Siemens QSPD2A035B 35 kA BoltShield Indoor Surge Protective Device
For an existing Siemens load center, the QSPD2A035B offers a direct, plug-in route to whole-panel surge protection. Its 35 kA per-phase rating and green/red mechanical indicators give buyers more specific capacity and status information than the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA listing provides. Plugging into the load-center bus can also make installation simpler than a separate wall-mounted unit such as Furniqro’s FHSPD36S, but that convenience comes with a firm compatibility limit: this device is designed for existing Siemens panels and indoor use. Its 3-year/$10,000 standard warranty adds stated coverage, though the supplied data also cautions that a single SPD may not provide the cascade protection recommended by IEEE. I’d choose it when panel fit and at-a-glance status are priorities, not when outdoor placement or broader panel compatibility is needed.
Pros:- Provides 35 kA surge-current protection per phase
- Plugs directly into the load-center bus for quick installation
- Green/red mechanical indicators show device status
- Includes a listed 3-year/$10,000 standard warranty
Cons:- Designed for indoor use only
- Limited to compatible existing Siemens load centers
- A single SPD may not provide the cascade protection recommended by IEEE
Best for: Owners of existing Siemens load centers who want a plug-in SPD with a visible mechanical status indicator.
Not ideal for: Homeowners with non-Siemens panels or anyone needing an outdoor-rated device or a standalone wall-mount installation.
- Model:QSPD2A035B
- Surge current:35 kA per phase
- Voltage:240 V
- Mounting type:Plug-in
- Number of poles:2
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Installation location:Indoor
- Status indicators:Green/red mechanical visual indicators
- Warranty:3-year/$10,000 standard warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Siemens for a compatible indoor Siemens panel when plug-in installation and a visible status indicator are your priorities.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options around the choices that matter to a homeowner: documented protection specifications, panel compatibility, installation format, and clarity of product information. A stated surge-current rating can help distinguish models, but figures presented in different units or under different rating conventions should not be compared as if they were identical. I also gave weight to whether a device is described as Type 1 or Type 2, whether it is panel-specific or more broadly marketed, and whether its format points to a straightforward match for a particular installation.
The order reflects the balance of those factors, not a claim that one device will protect every home best. I favored clearly identified, established product lines with useful specifications for the leading positions; specialized or less fully documented options rank lower because buyers may need more verification before purchase. Panel compatibility and correct installation matter as much as headline capacity, so every pick should be checked against the electrical panel and local requirements, with a qualified electrician involved when needed.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Whole House Surge Protector
Before choosing a device, I’d start with the electrical panel and installation plan, then compare the protection specifications. These broader checks can prevent a high-capacity model from becoming the wrong purchase for a particular home.
Match the device to your panel
Start by identifying the panel manufacturer, model family, available breaker spaces, and whether the panel uses plug-on neutral connections. A device made for a specific panel line can provide a cleaner fit, but it may not work with a different panel from the same manufacturer. Universal-style wording does not mean universal compatibility; confirm the listed panel types and installation instructions. Also check whether the panel has room for the required breaker or connection method. A mismatch can add parts, labor, or a return, so have an electrician confirm fit if the panel label or layout is unclear.
Understand Type 1 and Type 2 placement
Type 1 and Type 2 identify different installation categories, not a simple quality ranking. Type 1 devices are generally intended for connection on the supply side of the service disconnect, while Type 2 devices are installed on the load side; the exact permitted arrangements depend on the product listing and electrical rules. That distinction can affect where the unit sits and who can install it. Do not assume a Type 1 model is automatically a better choice for a homeowner’s panel, or that any Type 2 unit fits every breaker arrangement. Use the manufacturer instructions and local code, and ask a licensed electrician to resolve placement questions.
Compare ratings carefully
Surge-current capacity, joule ratings, voltage protection ratings, and other specifications describe different aspects of a device. A larger number in one category does not prove better performance across all categories, and values shown in different units may not be directly comparable. Check the product documentation for the test conditions, per-phase or per-mode description, and any listing or certification information. Avoid buying on a headline such as “108,000 A” without confirming what the figure represents. When the technical details are missing or hard to reconcile, favor clearer documentation over a bigger-looking number.
Decide whether panel integration is worth prioritizing
Some protectors connect through a dedicated breaker or wiring, while others are designed to plug into a compatible panel arrangement. A panel-matched device can reduce fit uncertainty and keep the installation compact, but it narrows your choices if you replace the panel later. A separately wired unit may allow more placement flexibility, though cable routing and mounting need planning. Ask whether the panel has spare space and whether the installation location allows short, tidy connections. The device’s installation method should suit the actual panel, not just the convenience suggested by its product name.
Check indicators, replacement needs, and warranty terms
A surge protector’s status indicator can help show whether the unit remains operational, but it does not tell you that every connected appliance is protected from every event. Find out what the indicator means, whether an alarm is included, and what action the manufacturer recommends if protection status changes. Ask how the device is replaced and whether the model has serviceable components. Warranty language can vary in scope, exclusions, and claim requirements, so read the documentation rather than treating a warranty as a performance rating. These details matter most after an event, when a clear status signal and replacement plan can reduce uncertainty.
Plan for layered protection and realistic limits
A panel-mounted protector can reduce some surges entering through the electrical service, but it is not a guarantee against every electrical event. Sensitive electronics may still benefit from point-of-use protection, especially where equipment instructions call for it. A whole-house unit also cannot correct poor grounding, wiring faults, or an incompatible installation. If the home has a generator, solar equipment, an electric vehicle charger, or other specialized systems, ask an electrician how those systems affect the protection plan. Spend on a properly matched and installed device before paying extra for a headline rating that may not address the home’s actual risks.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I install a whole-house surge protector myself?
Many models connect inside or near the electrical panel, where exposed conductors can remain hazardous even after a breaker is switched off. Installation may also involve panel-specific wiring, code requirements, and the correct breaker or mounting arrangement. A plug-on design is not automatically safe or compatible for a do-it-yourself installation. I’d have a licensed electrician confirm the panel match and handle the work unless local rules and the manufacturer’s instructions clearly allow otherwise. Ask for the device’s status indicator and installation details to be explained when the work is complete.
Should I choose a Type 1 or Type 2 device for my home?
The right type depends on the device’s listed installation location and the service equipment layout, not a general assumption that one type is superior. Type 1 and Type 2 devices are intended for different positions relative to the service disconnect, subject to the product instructions and local electrical rules. Some homes may have more than one suitable arrangement, while others may call for a specific installation method. Give an electrician the exact model and panel details before buying. That check can prevent purchasing a device that cannot be installed in the intended location.
Is a higher kA rating always the better choice?
No single rating tells the whole story, and figures may use different conventions or refer to different parts of the device’s performance. A higher listed surge-current capacity can be a useful comparison when specifications are reported on a comparable basis, but it does not prove a better panel fit, installation, or protection level for every event. Check the full technical sheet, including voltage protection information and recognized listings, rather than relying on the largest number in a product title. In this lineup, the 140 kA Siemens and 80 kA Square D illustrate why capacity is one factor, not the entire ranking. A correctly selected and installed device is the better starting point.
Do I still need plug-in surge strips after installing a panel protector?
A whole-house unit and a plug-in protector serve different points in the electrical system, so the panel device does not automatically make point-of-use protection unnecessary. Sensitive electronics may benefit from a listed plug-in protector near the equipment, particularly if its manufacturer recommends one. Avoid daisy-chaining power strips or using a damaged unit, and follow the appliance and protector instructions. The panel protector also cannot guarantee protection from every surge or wiring problem. Think of the two approaches as layers, then choose point-of-use devices for equipment where added protection makes sense.
How can I tell whether a whole-house surge protector needs replacing?
Check the product’s status light, alarm, or other indicator and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for what each signal means. Some models can show that their protective components are no longer functioning, but indicator designs differ and a light is not a complete diagnostic test. Ask the installer to explain the status signal and where to find the model’s replacement guidance. After a major surge or electrical event, have the unit checked if its status is unclear or the manufacturer advises inspection. Keep the model number and installation information so a replacement can be matched to the panel.
Conclusion
For the broadest balance in this lineup, I’d choose the Square D HEPD80 as best overall, while the Square D HEPD50 is a practical value-minded alternative for buyers who prefer a recognizable universal-style model and confirm its specifications and panel fit. The Siemens Boltshield FSPD140 is my premium-leaning pick for shoppers prioritizing a higher listed capacity, provided its installation requirements suit the home. Beginners should start with a panel-matched option such as the Square D Homeline Plug-On Neutral when they have a compatible Homeline panel, and should have an electrician verify the match. For a Type 1 installation, compare the ABB THOMESURGEP and Gloyatin HSPD-25 against the service layout and documentation before deciding. Whichever model you select, confirm compatibility, listing details, and installation placement before purchase; those checks matter more than choosing the biggest number on the label.
NFL season / tailgating Picks
team gear
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


![[Genuine] Waterdrop PF-01A Water Filter Replacement for W...](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41+5tl9EiKL._SX342_SY445_QL70_FMwebp_.jpg)













