The Tapo P115 is my best overall pick among smart plugs with energy monitoring, balancing 15A capacity, useful energy tracking, and flexible pack sizes. For broader smart-home compatibility, the Kasa KP125M Matter models stand out, while Shelly Plug US Gen4 suits buyers who want several connection options in one device. The main tradeoffs are ecosystem compatibility, how much monitoring detail you need, and whether a multi-pack makes sense for your outlets. Pack size and wireless protocols can matter as much as the energy features themselves. Read on for the full comparison and guidance on matching a plug to your home.
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Tapo P115 is the strongest all-round fit: its 15A rating and availability in two- and four-packs give buyers a choice between testing a room and outfitting several outlets.
- Matter choices split by pack size and model: Kasa‘s KP125M line offers two- and four-pack options, while the Tapo P110M four-pack suits buyers prioritizing Matter across multiple outlets.
- Shelly Plug US Gen4 is the connectivity specialist: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter give it more protocol flexibility than the Wi-Fi-focused options, but buyers should check their setup before choosing it.
- Four-packs dominate this lineup: AiSeek, Govee, Tapo, Kasa, THIRDREALITY, and Shelly options serve multi-room plans, but a larger pack is useful only if each outlet and device fits the intended use.
- Not every plug listed is explicitly identified as energy-monitoring: THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 is presented without that feature in its product name, so buyers focused on energy data should verify monitoring support before selecting it.
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Simple Multi-Room Monitoring | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum load: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Energy History | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Cost-Conscious Starter Monitoring | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 125 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Cross-Platform Smart Homes | Model and pack size: KP125MP2; 2 plugs | Maximum current: 15 A | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AiSeek Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Detailed Electrical Readings | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum power: 1800 W | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Multi-Room Monitoring | Pack size: 4 plugs | Model: P115 | Operating voltage: 110 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Lower-Power Appliances | Pack size: 2 plugs | Operating voltage: 120 V | Maximum continuous load: 10 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Zigbee Smart Homes | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Zigbee 3.0 | Operating voltage: 110 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Cross-Platform Matter Control | Model: KP125MP4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1,800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best for Matter-Based Energy Automation | Model: P110M | Pack size: 4 plugs | Wattage: 1,800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Shelly Plug US Gen4 Smart Plug with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter | ![]() | Best for Multi-Protocol Flexibility | Model: Plug US Gen4 | Connectivity: Wi-Fi, Matter, Bluetooth, Zigbee | Certification: UL certified | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Pack size | Operating voltage |
|---|---|---|---|
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | 120 V |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi required | 4 plugs | 120 V AC |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 2 plugs | 125 V |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter and Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | 120 V |
| AiSeek Energy Monitoring Smart | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 4 plugs | 120 V |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | 110 V AC |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 2 plugs | 120 V |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | Zigbee 3.0 | 4 plugs | 110 V |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings | 4 plugs | 120 V |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w | Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 4 plugs | — |
| Shelly Plug US Gen4 Smart Plug | Wi-Fi, Matter, Bluetooth, Zigbee | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The AiSeek four-pack suits buyers who want energy readings and basic appliance control across several rooms without adding a hub. Its SmartLife app reports real-time power and energy use, while schedules, timers, and group control make routine devices easier to manage together. Compared with the Govee four-pack, the listed feature set is simpler: Govee also tracks current and voltage and keeps historical data for up to a year. AiSeek’s appeal is a compact 1.4-inch-wide body, which may be easier to fit beside another plug. The tradeoff is setup dependence: the SmartLife app is needed to configure the plugs and link Alexa or Google Assistant, and the plugs require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Buyers wanting richer measurement history should look at Govee instead.
Pros:- Reports real-time power and energy use.
- Four plugs support monitoring and group control across multiple devices.
- Compact listed dimensions can help preserve access to neighboring outlets.
- Includes overload and short-circuit protection and a 2-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- SmartLife app setup is required before voice-assistant linking.
- The provided feature details do not list historical energy reporting.
Best for: Households that want real-time energy checks and scheduled control for several appliances using the SmartLife app.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need long-term energy history or want to avoid a separate app for setup and voice-assistant linking.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Control:SmartLife app, button, voice, and group control
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 × 2.8 × 2 inches
- Protection and warranty:Overload and short-circuit protection; 2 years
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack for compact, app-based energy monitoring across several rooms, but pick Govee if year-long history matters more.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
For buyers who want to see how consumption changes over time, the Govee four-pack offers the clearest data story in this group. Its app tracks power, current, and voltage, with historical records available for up to one year—more detail than the listed real-time monitoring on the AiSeek SmartLife four-pack. That longer view can help identify whether a device’s use changes across weeks or seasons, rather than showing only what it draws now. Govee also supports schedules, group controls, and Alexa or Google Assistant without a hub. The tradeoff is a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement; it does not connect to 5 GHz networks. Its listed dimensions are also larger than the AiSeek Smart Plug’s, so buyers with crowded outlets should compare the physical fit before choosing.
Pros:- Tracks power, current, and voltage.
- Provides up to one year of historical energy data.
- Supports app, voice, remote, scheduled, and group control.
- ETL and FCC certified; no hub is needed.
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Its listed dimensions are larger than those of the AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring.
- Requires the Govee Home app for its monitoring and controls.
Best for: Homeowners who want to compare appliance power, current, and voltage readings over time using app-based history.
Not ideal for: Buyers whose smart-home network uses only 5 GHz Wi-Fi or who need a particularly small plug body.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi required
- Monitoring:Power, current, voltage, and up to one year of historical data
- Control:App, touch, voice, scheduling, and group control
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Pick Govee if year-long energy history and multiple electrical readings outweigh its 2.4 GHz-only connection and larger listed size.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 two-pack is a practical entry point for buyers who want energy statistics without outfitting every room at once. Its charts and electricity-cost estimates turn usage readings into a more approachable way to compare appliances. Scheduling, remote control, and smart charging add useful automation, while the compact body is designed to leave neighboring outlets accessible. Compared with the Govee four-pack, Tapo supplies fewer plugs and does not list year-long history or voltage and current tracking; Govee is the better fit for broader monitoring. Tapo’s advantage is a focused two-plug setup with cost-estimation tools and overload shutoff. It still requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and its smaller pack is less suited to buyers who want to monitor many devices at once.
Pros:- Provides energy statistics and estimated electricity costs.
- Compact design helps avoid blocking neighboring outlets.
- Includes scheduling, remote control, smart charging, and overload shutoff.
- ETL, FCC, and RoHS certifications are listed.
Cons:- Includes only two plugs, fewer than the AiSeek and Govee four-packs.
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- The listed monitoring features do not include Govee-style power, current, and voltage tracking with year-long history.
Best for: First-time energy-monitoring buyers who want charts and estimated electricity costs for one or two appliances.
Not ideal for: Buyers monitoring several rooms or seeking the detailed electrical readings and year-long history listed for Govee.
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Monitoring:Energy statistics, charts, and estimated electricity costs
- Control:Tapo app, remote control, and voice
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Features and certifications:Scheduling, smart charging, overload shutoff; ETL, FCC, and RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 for a compact two-plug start with cost estimates, not for broad coverage or extensive electrical history.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 2-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP2 is the strongest match here for buyers choosing plugs around a mixed smart-home setup. Matter support connects it with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings, while local network control can continue after setup even if internet access drops. That platform flexibility sets it apart from the Tapo P115, which lists Alexa and Google Assistant but not Matter or Apple Home compatibility. The Kasa also monitors energy use and has a compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design. Its tradeoffs are straightforward: it is a two-pack, not a whole-home bundle, and its Wi-Fi connection requires 2.4 GHz. Buyers who only need a simple two-plug setup may find Tapo’s cost-estimation feature more directly useful, while Kasa makes more sense when platform choice and local control lead.
Pros:- Matter compatibility covers Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.
- Local network control can work without internet once configured.
- Tracks energy use.
- Compact design, UL-certified flame-retardant construction, and a 2-year limited warranty.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Two plugs provide less coverage than the four-plug AiSeek and Govee bundles.
- The listed monitoring details do not specify cost estimates or extended history.
Best for: Smart-home owners who use multiple ecosystems or want Matter-compatible plugs with energy monitoring and local control.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a four-pack, 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or energy-cost estimates as a stated monitoring feature.
- Model and pack size:KP125MP2; 2 plugs
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter and Wi-Fi; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings
- Control:App, voice, and local network control after setup
- Construction and warranty:UL-certified flame-retardant design; 2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose Kasa when Matter compatibility and local control across smart-home platforms matter more than pack size or detailed monitoring history.”
AiSeek Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 15A, 4-Pack
This AiSeek four-pack is aimed at buyers who want more than a single energy-use figure: its Tuya or Smart Life app tracks power consumption, voltage, and current. That gives it a different emphasis from the AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, which lists real-time power and energy readings but not voltage and current. The plugs also support remote and voice control, schedules, and timers, with no hub required. Each unit handles up to 1800 W and includes overload protection. The listing does not specify a history window, so buyers who want a clear long-term record may prefer Govee, which states up to one year of historical data. Setup still relies on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and the app choice may add friction for households that prefer a single established smart-home platform.
Pros:- Tracks power consumption, voltage, current, and energy use.
- Four plugs provide coverage for multiple appliances.
- Supports app, button, remote, and voice control with schedules and timers.
- No hub required; overload protection and a 2-year warranty are listed.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- The listing does not specify an energy-history window.
- The listed dimensions are relatively large and may be awkward on crowded outlets.
Best for: Buyers who want voltage and current readings across several appliances and already use Tuya or Smart Life.
Not ideal for: People who need stated long-term energy history, 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or a compact plug with clearly specified small dimensions.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Monitoring:Power consumption, voltage, current, and energy use
- Control:App, push button, voice, schedules, and timers
- Compatibility:Alexa, Google Assistant, Tuya, and Smart Life
- Dimensions and protection:2.76 × 2.07 × 5.71 inches; overload protection
- Certifications and warranty:ETL and FCC; 2 years
Our verdict“Choose this AiSeek pack for multi-device voltage and current readings, but favor Govee if documented long-term history is your priority.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 4-pack makes sense when you want energy tracking across several appliances without buying into a hub-based setup. Its app provides usage statistics and charts, while estimated electricity costs can help identify devices that contribute more to a household’s consumption. Compared with the Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug 2-Pack, this set covers twice as many outlets and supports a higher stated load, making it a better fit for spreading monitoring around the home. Scheduling, automatic shutoff, and Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings control add useful ways to act on the data. The tradeoff is 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only; it does not suit buyers who need 5 GHz connectivity or a Matter-based setup.
Pros:- Four plugs let buyers monitor multiple appliances at once
- App statistics and charts include estimated electricity costs
- Scheduling and automatic shutoff can help manage device use
- Compact body helps keep the neighboring outlet accessible
Cons:- Connects to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Matter is not listed among its supported platforms
Best for: Households that want to monitor several appliances across different rooms using an app and common voice assistants.
Not ideal for: Buyers whose Wi-Fi setup relies on 5 GHz or who want Matter-based local smart-home control.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Model:P115
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1,800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:App, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 4-pack if you want app-based energy tracking across several outlets without adding a hub.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, 2-Pack
The Emporia two-pack is a focused option for monitoring and scheduling compatible 120 V appliances, but its load limits matter more here than they do with the Tapo P115. Emporia specifies 10 A continuous, with 15 A permitted only for up to one hour per day, so it is a better match for lower-power devices than buyers seeking a plug for sustained, heavier loads. The app provides energy monitoring, and remote control plus Alexa and Google Assistant support make it straightforward to operate devices when away or set routines. Its two-plug format is useful for a small number of appliances, though the Tapo four-pack covers more outlets. The main compromises are the lower continuous rating and 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi.
Pros:- Energy monitoring is available through the Emporia app
- Remote control and scheduling support everyday routines
- Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Two plugs suit buyers who need to monitor a small set of appliances
Cons:- Continuous load is limited to 10 A
- 15 A peak operation is limited to one hour per day
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz
Best for: Buyers monitoring a couple of lower-power 120 V appliances who want app control and scheduling.
Not ideal for: People planning to connect devices that draw more than 10 A continuously, or households using only 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum continuous load:10 A
- Maximum peak load:15 A for up to 1 hour per day
- Power:1,200 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick Emporia for monitoring a couple of lower-power appliances, but choose the Tapo P115 if you need more outlets or a higher stated wattage.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
The THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 stands apart from Wi-Fi picks such as the Tapo P115: it uses Zigbee 3.0 and needs a compatible hub. For buyers who already run Home Assistant, SmartThings, Hubitat, or a compatible Echo setup, that hub requirement can fit an existing system rather than add another device to manage. Its stated ±1% monitoring accuracy gives energy-conscious users a defined accuracy figure, and each plug can also extend the Zigbee mesh. That combination makes the four-pack useful for both consumption tracking and adding network reach. It is less suitable as a standalone purchase, though: there is no listed direct Wi-Fi connection, and power-restoration settings depend on the platform. Check platform compatibility before choosing it.
Pros:- Four-plug pack supports monitoring across multiple devices
- Power monitoring is specified at ±1% accuracy
- Plugs can extend a Zigbee mesh network
- Compatible with several platforms, including Home Assistant, SmartThings, and Hubitat
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
- Power-restoration settings are supported only on certain platforms
Best for: People with a compatible Zigbee hub who want energy monitoring and added mesh coverage from the same plugs.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a Zigbee hub, or those who want a direct Wi-Fi plug with broadly consistent power-restoration settings.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Zigbee 3.0
- Operating voltage:110 V
- Power monitoring accuracy:±1%
- Compatible platforms:Home Assistant, SmartThings, Hubitat, compatible Echo devices, and others
- Operation mode:On-off
- Installation:Plug-in
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose THIRDREALITY if you already have a compatible Zigbee hub and value stated monitoring accuracy plus mesh extension.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 4-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP4 is the most compelling fit here for buyers who want energy monitoring in a four-pack and Matter compatibility across major smart-home ecosystems. It supports Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while local Matter control can keep compatible routines working when the internet is offline. That gives it a different advantage from the Wi-Fi-focused Tapo P115, which lists voice and app control but not Matter. Kasa’s compact form and UL-certified flame-retardant construction add practical reassurance for everyday use, and its two-year limited warranty is longer than the one-year term listed for the Emporia and THIRDREALITY plugs. Still, it remains a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi product with a 1,800 W maximum, so it is not a higher-capacity alternative.
Pros:- Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local Matter control can work when internet service is offline
- Four plugs provide monitoring coverage for several devices
- UL-certified flame-retardant construction and a two-year limited warranty
Cons:- Uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Maximum load is 15 A or 1,800 W
Best for: Households using Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want Matter-based local control and energy tracking.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing 5 GHz Wi-Fi support or a plug rated above 1,800 W.
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1,800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP125MP4 if cross-platform Matter control and offline local operation matter as much as energy monitoring.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P110M pairs energy monitoring with Matter compatibility and adds power thresholds, which can help buyers set a response when a connected device reaches a chosen consumption level. It also supports scheduling and control through Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings, giving it a wider smart-home fit than the non-Matter Tapo P115. Compared with the Kasa KP125MP4, it shares a four-plug format and broad platform compatibility, while Tapo specifically lists threshold controls as part of its energy-management toolkit. Both models are limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and 1,800 W, so neither is a choice for 5 GHz-only networks or higher loads. The P110M’s standout is the added automation layer, not a higher electrical rating.
Pros:- Matter compatibility works with several major smart-home platforms
- Energy monitoring includes usage statistics
- Power thresholds add a way to automate around consumption
- Four-plug pack and compact design suit multi-room use
Cons:- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Maximum wattage is 1,800 W
Best for: Matter users who want to track energy use and build threshold-based automations across several appliances.
Not ideal for: People on 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or buyers who need a plug with a maximum rating above 1,800 W.
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Wattage:1,800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Control methods:App, voice, scheduling
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Color:White
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P110M if you want a four-pack of Matter plugs with energy tracking and threshold-based automation.”
Shelly Plug US Gen4 Smart Plug with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter
The Shelly Plug US Gen4 is a strong fit for buyers who want energy monitoring without committing to one smart-home connection standard. It combines real-time power monitoring with Wi-Fi, Matter, Bluetooth, and Zigbee, giving it broader protocol flexibility than Wi-Fi-focused options such as the Tapo P115. Its app control, timers, and local schedules can help track and automate compatible small appliances, while the ambient light sensor and multicolor LED add status cues beyond basic plug control.
That flexibility comes with setup tradeoffs: some features require the Shelly app, so it may take more configuration than a straightforward Wi-Fi plug. Its stated use is limited to small appliances, and the supplied details do not specify a load rating. I’d choose it for connectivity options and safety provisions, not for high-demand devices or a simple bulk-plug setup.
Pros:- Supports Wi-Fi, Matter, Bluetooth, and Zigbee for flexible smart-home integration.
- Real-time energy monitoring helps track compatible appliances’ power use.
- Timers, local schedules, scenes, and remote app control support varied automation routines.
- UL certification, a protective socket cover, and a 3-year warranty add safety and support.
Cons:- Described for small appliances, limiting its stated use cases.
- Some features require setup through the Shelly app.
- The provided specifications do not state a maximum load rating.
Best for: Smart-home owners who want real-time energy readings and the option to connect through Matter, Zigbee, Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a plug explicitly rated for high-demand appliances, want a simple setup without the Shelly app, or need several plugs for broad household coverage.
- Model:Plug US Gen4
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Matter, Bluetooth, Zigbee
- Certification:UL certified
- Energy monitoring:Real-time power monitoring
- Additional features:Ambient light sensor, multicolor LED, timer, local schedules, app control
- Safety feature:Protective socket cover
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the Shelly Plug US Gen4 if protocol flexibility and real-time monitoring matter more than a simpler setup or a clearly specified high-load rating.”

How We Picked
I compared the listed plugs through the lens of energy-monitoring usefulness and everyday fit: stated electrical capacity, connection protocols, pack size, and how readily each model could suit different smart-home setups. I gave more weight to products whose provided details clearly identify energy monitoring and that offer practical choices for single-room or multi-outlet use. Compatibility matters because a plug that does not fit a buyer’s existing ecosystem can undermine the value of its monitoring features.
The order favors balanced options first, then models with a more specific advantage, such as Matter support, multi-protocol connectivity, or a large pack. I treated shared product families as distinct buying choices when pack size or protocol differs, rather than assuming one size suits every household. Where the supplied product name did not clearly confirm energy monitoring or other operating details, I avoid assuming those capabilities and recommend verifying them before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Energy-monitoring plugs look similar on a product page, but the right choice depends on how you will use the readings and what your home already supports. I would settle the compatibility, electrical-load, and pack-size questions before comparing app features.
Decide What You Want the Energy Data to Tell You
Monitoring is most useful when it answers a specific question: whether a device draws power while idle, how its use changes over time, or which appliance contributes most to a room’s consumption. A plug may show live or historical information, but product names alone do not establish the depth, retention, or export options for that data. Check the app’s stated reporting features before buying if you plan to compare weekly use or share records. Avoid treating a plug’s reading as a utility-grade measurement unless the maker specifies accuracy and suitable use. For basic appliance comparisons, a clear display and easy-to-read trends may matter more than advanced data tools. If you mainly want remote on/off control, do not pay extra for monitoring features you will rarely open.
Match the Plug to Your Smart-Home Protocol
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and Matter solve different compatibility problems, and a longer protocol list does not automatically make a plug simpler. Matter can help a device work across supported platforms, but buyers still need compatible controllers, apps, and network conditions. Zigbee generally depends on a suitable hub or coordinator, while Wi-Fi plugs typically join a home network directly. Bluetooth can help with setup or local communication, but its role varies by product. Before buying, check the exact model number and your platform’s current device support rather than relying on a brand name. This is especially useful when comparing the Kasa and Tapo Matter options with the more protocol-flexible Shelly model.
Check Electrical Ratings and Appliance Suitability
A stated 15A rating is useful, but it does not mean every high-draw appliance is suitable for a smart plug. Confirm the device’s voltage, current, and load type against the plug’s full specifications, including any limits for motors, heating elements, or continuous operation. Large appliances may have startup surges that differ from their ordinary running draw. Do not use a compact plug as a substitute for a properly rated dedicated circuit or a manufacturer’s required control method. Buyers should also check whether the plug blocks a neighboring outlet, especially in crowded power strips. When the appliance load is uncertain, consult its manual and the plug maker’s limits before connecting it.
Choose Pack Size Around Your Actual Outlet Plan
Four-packs can simplify a room-by-room rollout, but buying more plugs than you can place can leave useful monitoring unused. Make a list of the appliances you want to track and note outlet locations, wall-wart size, and Wi-Fi or hub coverage first. A two-pack is a sensible way to confirm that the app and readings fit your needs before expanding. For a planned multi-room setup, compare pack options within the same model family so you do not accidentally mix different protocols or app experiences. The lineup includes both two- and four-packs for Tapo and Kasa models, while several other choices are listed only as four-packs. Buy for the outlets you can use, not just the largest bundle available.
Plan for Network Reliability and Data Access
Energy readings are only useful if the plug remains connected and the app makes the information accessible when you need it. Several listed products specify 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so check your router settings and whether a combined network can complete setup reliably. If your home has weak coverage in a utility room or basement, improve the signal or consider a protocol supported by your existing hub rather than assuming the plug will solve the gap. Also check whether monitoring depends on cloud access, whether local control is available, and what happens to saved data if you change phones or accounts. These details can matter more over time than a long feature list. A reliable, easy-to-reach record is better than a sophisticated dashboard that is hard to use.
Verify Monitoring Support Before Buying a Control-First Model
Some smart plugs are sold mainly for switching and automation, and a model name that lacks energy-monitoring language should prompt a closer specification check. In this roundup, the THIRDREALITY Gen3 listing does not explicitly identify energy monitoring, unlike the other named monitoring models. Confirm that the exact generation and regional version report energy use in the app or platform you plan to use. Do not assume a feature carries over from a different product in the same brand’s range. This check also helps avoid confusing a schedule, timer, or on/off status with actual power measurement. If monitoring is the reason for buying, choose only after the manufacturer confirms the data feature for that exact model.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a Matter smart plug show energy data in every smart-home app?
No. Matter support can improve device compatibility, but it does not guarantee that every controller or app exposes energy readings. Check the plug maker’s documentation and the specific platform’s supported energy features before choosing a Matter model. You may find that switching works across platforms while detailed monitoring remains inside the manufacturer’s app. If energy data is your main reason for buying, confirm both the device feature and where its readings will appear.
Should I choose a two-pack or a four-pack if I am new to energy monitoring?
A two-pack is usually the lower-commitment way to learn whether the readings help with your decisions. Start with two appliances whose use you want to compare, then see whether the app presents data clearly and consistently. A four-pack makes more sense when you already have several planned outlets and have confirmed the plugs fit your network and devices. The Tapo P115 and Kasa KP125M families in this lineup offer both pack sizes, making it easier to keep the model consistent as you expand. Do not buy extra units solely to get a larger bundle if you have no clear use for them.
Can I use an energy-monitoring smart plug with a space heater or other high-draw appliance?
Do not assume a plug is suitable just because its product listing states a 15A rating. Check the appliance’s manual, the plug’s complete load specifications, and any restrictions for heating elements or continuous use. Some appliances draw more current during startup than their ordinary operation suggests. A smart plug should not replace a required wall switch, dedicated control, or properly rated circuit. If either product’s guidance is unclear, contact the manufacturer or use a control method explicitly approved for that appliance.
Are Wi-Fi, Zigbee, and Bluetooth monitoring plugs interchangeable?
No. They differ in setup, network requirements, and dependence on other equipment, and their app features may not match even when each supports energy monitoring. Wi-Fi models typically connect to the home router, while Zigbee devices usually need a compatible hub; Bluetooth’s function depends on the model. Shelly Plug US Gen4 lists several protocol options, but buyers should still confirm which modes work with their planned controller and monitoring app. Choose based on the devices and network you already own, not just the number of protocols on the box.
Is the THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 a good choice if energy monitoring is my priority?
The supplied product name does not explicitly state that the THIRDREALITY Gen3 includes energy monitoring, so I would verify its exact specifications before buying it for that purpose. Confirm that the specific generation reports measured energy use, not only on/off status or automation activity. Also check whether readings appear in the app or hub you intend to use. If the maker does not confirm monitoring support for that model, a product explicitly named for energy monitoring is a safer match for this need. That verification matters more than the plug’s pack size or smart-home compatibility.
Conclusion
For most buyers, I recommend the Tapo P115 as the best overall, with 15A capacity and two- or four-pack choices that suit both a small trial and a wider rollout. The AiSeek four-packs are the best value-style fit for multi-outlet plans when straightforward 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi meets your needs; confirm the exact app and monitoring details before choosing. For beginners, start with a Tapo P115 two-pack to test readings on a couple of appliances before expanding. The Shelly Plug US Gen4 is my premium-style pick for protocol flexibility, especially for buyers building around several supported connection options. Choose Kasa or Tapo Matter models for a Matter-centered home, and only select THIRDREALITY after confirming energy monitoring on the exact Gen3 model. That leaves a clear decision: prioritize fit with your ecosystem and appliances first, then choose the pack size that matches your actual outlets.














